Press Releases

2019wycupscholars edited

Barbados Wins at WOCCU/CCCU 2019 Convention


Barbados was one of the five winners of the 2019 World Council Young Credit Union Professionals Program (WYCUP) scholarship at the recently held World Credit Union Conference in the Bahamas from July 28-31, 2019.

WYCUP is an annual scholarship program designed to promote and engage the next generation of credit union leaders in the international credit union movement. Each year up to five outstanding nominees, who are 35 or younger and have made significant contributions to their credit union or financial cooperative system and have the potential to make a global credit union impact are awarded the scholarship. 

Mr. Kevin Lashley, President of United Enterprise Credit Union and member of the Supervisory Committee of the Barbados Co-operative Credit Union League, was awarded an all-expense-paid attendance to the 2020 World Credit Union Conference.

The Barbados Co-operative Credit Union League wishes to congratulate Mr. Lashley on this achievement and further success in all future endeavours.

BCCUL 60th Anniversary Logo heavy-edit

BCCULL 60th Anniversary Dinner & Awards Gala

The Barbados Co-operative & Credit Union League Ltd. celebrated its 60th Anniversary on December 5, 2017. In order to commemorate this significant milestone, a Dinner and Awards Gala was held on October 13, 2018 at the Hilton Barbados Resort. The event honoured significant contributions of individuals and organisations to the success of the League over the 60 years of its existence.
Awards were as follows:
Employees’ Long Service Awards
1.   Marisa Marshall – Five (5) years
2.   Wesley Bowen – 15 years
3.   Marguerita McClean – 25 years
4.   Anthony Pilgrim – 25 years
1.   Sis. Patti Harrison (Deceased) – 1979 to 1983
2.   Bro. Oriel Doyle – 1983 to 1995
On December 5, 1957, Shamrock Credit Union joined forces with Perseverance and Enterprise Credit Unions to successfully register the Barbados Co-operative & Credit Union League Ltd.  The League was registered as co-operative society No. 20.  Today of the three founder members, Shamrock is the sole survivor.
This year Shamrock celebrated its 71st Anniversary on July 29.  This Credit Union remains an active member of the League.
1.   Bro. Lorenzo Lowe (Deceased) - 1957 to 1961
2.   Bro. Conrad Hill (Deceased) – 1961 to 1965
3.   Bro. Clarence Jemmott (Deceased) – 1965 to 1969
4.   Bro. John Lovell (Deceased) – 1969 to 1974 
5.   Bro. Lionel Waithe (Deceased) – 1974 to 1979
6.   Bro. Joseph Welch (Deceased) - 1979 to1983.
7.   Sis. Muriel Parris – 1983 to 1996
8.   Bro. Adrian Griffith - 1986 to 1988
9.   Bro. Cecil McCarthy – 1998 to 1992
10.        Lt. Colonel Trevor Browne - 1992 to 1995
11.        Sir L. V. Harcourt Lewis (Deceased) - 1995/1996    
12.        Bro. Keith Alleyne (Deceased) – 1999 to 2002
13.        Bro. Ashton Turney – 1996 to 1999 and 2002 to 2005
14.        Bro. Michael Alleyne - 2005 to 2009
15.        Bro. Paul Maxwell – 2009
16.        Bro. Dean St. Hill – 2009 to 2011
17.        Bro. Hally Haynes – 2011 to 2014
18.        Bro. Barry Hunte – 2014 to 2016 
Bro. Anderson Henry
Bro Henry is the sitting President of the League, a position he has held since 2016
1.   Barbados Workers’ Union Co-operative Credit Union Ltd.
2.   Barbados Teachers’ Co-operative Credit Union Ltd.
3.   Barbados Public Workers’ Co-operative Credit Union Ltd.
Mr. Anthony Pilgrim
Mr. Anthony Pilgrim joined the staff of The Barbados Co-operative & Credit Union League on March 15, 1990 as a Field Officer. He was promoted to the position of General Manager on November 1, 1995; when the League was at a very ominous juncture of its existence.
Click here to see some of our photos from the event.
You are here: BCCULL Homepage News Press Releases
Stay in touch with the BCCULL. Sign up to receive our email alerts. Register Now!

Contact Us

Barbados Co-operative & Credit Union League Ltd.
1st Floor, Co-operators General Insurance Building
Upper Collymore Rock, St. Michael, Barbados

Tel: 246-429-7075
Fax: 246-436-5848

Share Us